E1 and E2 Treaty Countries

E Visas to the United States for Israeli Importers and Exporters and for Investors

Israel is counted among the E1 Treaty Trader countries whose Citizens are eligible for E1 Visas to the U.S.  However, although Congress passed a law in 2012 granting E2 Treaty Investor Status to Israeli Citizens, reciprocal law has yet to be legislated in Israel nor have procedural details been concluded between the two countries, enabling the issue of E2 Visas at this time.  When all of the necessary legislation and procedural coordination have been completed, a press release will be issued by the Embassy in Tel Aviv and more details will be available at the U.S. Embassy site under the E Visa Category.

To check eligibility for either or both of the E Visa categories, or for advice on how to prepare for a future application for an E Visa contact us.

The following list shows the countries who have reciprocal treaties with the United States for one or both of the E Treaty categories the list (is subject to changes and) can be found on the U.S. State Department internet site at U.S. Visas :

Albania E-2
Argentina E-1
Argentina E-2
Armenia E-2
Australia E-1
Australia E-2
Austria E-1
Austria E-2
Azerbaijan E-2
Bahrain E-2
Bangladesh E-2
Belgium E-1
Belgium E-2
Bolivia E-1
Bolivia E-2
Bosnia and Herzegovina 11 E-1
Bosnia and Herzegovina 11 E-2
Brunei E-1
Bulgaria E-2
Cameroon E-2
Canada E-1
Canada E-2
Chile E-1
Chile E-2
China (Taiwan) 1 E-1
China (Taiwan) 1 E-2
Colombia E-1
Colombia E-2
Congo (Brazzaville) E-2
Congo (Kinshasa) E-2
Costa Rica E-1
Costa Rica E-2
Croatia 11 E-1
Croatia 11 E-2
Czech Republic 2 E-2
Denmark 3 E-1
Denmark E-2
Ecuador E-2
Egypt E-2
Estonia E-1
Estonia E-2
Ethiopia E-1
Ethiopia E-2
Finland E-1
Finland E-2
France 4 E-1
France 4 E-2
Georgia E-2
Germany E-1
Germany E-2
Greece E-1
Grenada E-2
Honduras E-1
Honduras E-2
Iran E-1
Iran E-2
Ireland E-1
Ireland E-2
Israel E-1
Italy E-1
Italy E-2
Jamaica E-2
Japan 5 E-1
Japan 5 E-2
Jordan E-1
Jordan E-2
Kazakhstan E-2
Korea (South) E-1
Korea (South) E-2
Kosovo 11 E-1
Kosovo 11 E-2
Kyrgyzstan E-2
Latvia E-1
Latvia E-2
Liberia E-1
Liberia E-2
Lithuania E-2
Luxembourg E-1
Luxembourg E-2
Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of (FRY) E-1
Macedonia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of (FRY) E-2
Mexico E-1
Mexico E-2
Moldova E-2
Mongolia E-2
Montenegro 11 E-1
Montenegro 11 E-2
Morocco E-2
Netherlands 6 E-1
Netherlands 6 E-2
Norway 7 E-1
Norway 7 E-2
Oman E-1
Oman E-2
Pakistan E-1
Pakistan E-2
Panama E-2
Paraguay E-1
Paraguay E-2
Philippines E-1
Philippines E-2
Poland E-1
Poland E-2
Romania E-2
Serbia 11 E-1
Serbia 11 E-2
Senegal E-2
Singapore E-1
Singapore E-2
Slovak Republic 2 E-2
Slovenia 11 E-1
Slovenia 11 E-2
Spain 8 E-1
Spain 8 E-2
Sri Lanka E-2
Suriname 9 E-1
Suriname 9 E-2
Sweden E-1
Sweden E-2
Switzerland E-1
Switzerland E-2
Thailand E-1
Thailand E-2
Togo E-1
Togo E-2
Trinidad & Tobago E-2
Tunisia E-2
Turkey E-1
Turkey E-2
Ukraine E-2
United Kingdom 10 E-1
United Kingdom 10 E-2
Yugoslavia 11 E-1
Yugoslavia 11 E-2

Country Specific Footnotes

  1. China (Taiwan) – Pursuant to Section 6 of the Taiwan Relations Act, (TRA) Public Law 96-8, 93 Stat, 14, and Executive Order 12143, 44 F.R. 37191, this agreement which was concluded with the Taiwan authorities prior to January 01, 1979, is administered on a nongovernmental basis by the American Institute in Taiwan, a nonprofit District of Columbia corporation, and constitutes neither recognition of the Taiwan authorities nor the continuation of any official relationship with Taiwan.
  2. Czech Repubilc and Slovak Republic – The Treaty with the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic entered into force on December 19, 1992; entered into force for the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic as separate states on January 01, 1993.
  3. Denmark – The Treaty which entered into force on July 30, 1961, does not apply to Greenland.
  4. France – The Treaty which entered into force on December 21, 1960, applies to the departments of Martinique, Guadeloupe, French Guiana and Reunion.
  5. Japan – The Treaty which entered into force on October 30, 1953, was made applicable to the Bonin Islands on June 26, 1968, and to the Ryukyu Islands on May 15, 1972.
  6. Netherlands – The Treaty which entered into force on December 05, 1957, is applicable to Aruba and Netherlands Antilles.
  7. Norway – The Treaty which entered into force on September 13, 1932, does not apply to Svalbard (Spitzbergen and certain lesser islands).
  8. Spain – The Treaty which entered into force on April 14, 1903, is applicable to all territories.
  9. Suriname – The Treaty with the Netherlands which entered into force December 05, 1957, was made applicable to Suriname on February 10, 1963.
  10. United Kingdom – The Convention which entered into force on July 03, 1815, applies only to British territory in Europe (the British Isles (except the Republic of Ireland), the Channel Islands and Gibraltar) and to “inhabitants” of such territory. This term, as used in the Convention, means “one who resides actually and permanently in a given place, and has his domicile there.” Also, in order to qualify for treaty trader or treaty investor status under this treaty, the alien must be a national of the United Kingdom. Individuals having the nationality of members of the Commonwealth other than the United Kingdom do not qualify for treaty trader or treaty investor status under this treaty.
  11. Yugoslavia – The U.S. view is that the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (SFRY) has dissolved and that the successors that formerly made up the SFRY – Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Slovenia, and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia continue to be bound by the treaty in force with the SFRY and the time of dissolution.